Althaus Named Charles J. and Ethel S. Merriam Professor in Political Science

On Tuesday, February 17, a ceremony was held for the investiture of Professor Scott L. Althaus as the Charles J. and Ethel S. Merriam Professor in Political Science. Prof. Althaus joined the University of Illinois in 1996 and holds a joint appointment in the departments of Political Science and Communication. He is also Director of the Cline Center for Democracy at the University of Illinois. Congratulations to Prof. Althaus on this outstanding achievement!

Mon, 16 Mar 2015

Poole Named David L. Swanson Professor of Communication!

We are very, very pleased to announce that Marshall Scott Poole has been named David L. Swanson Professor of Communication. As noted in the Provost's guidelines on such named Professorships, this designation is "reserved for appointees who are among the most talented and accomplished" members of the faculty.

This Professorship was named after David Swanson, who was the head of the Department of Speech Communication from 1994 to 2001 before becoming associate provost. The Swanson Professorship is a reminder of the excellence that he brought to the department and the campus of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.  
Congratulations Scott! A major accomplishment!

Mon, 22 Sep 2014

Wilson Accepts Position as Dean of LAS

We are pleased to announce that Dr. Barbara Wilson will be the next Harry E. Preble Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Dr. Wilson is the current executive vice provost for faculty and academic affairs and the former head of the Department of Communication. Congratulations to Dr. Wilson on this tremendous accomplishment!

Tue, 13 May 2014


CMN Faculty Meeting

10/16/2015 | 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm

NCA Annual Conference

11/19/2015 - 11/22/2015